Applications Videos

Historic Properties

Properties For Sale

About the Commission

Browse By Topic

Local History



Charlotte-Mecklenburg Historic Landmarks Commission

Charlotte, N. C.


Adopted 1973

Revised 1982, 1992, 2002


The Charlotte-Mecklenburg Historic Landmarks Commission shall be governed by the terms of Part 3B of Chapter 6-160A of the General Statutes of North Carolina and by Joint Resolution of the County of Mecklenburg (June 4, 1973) and the City of Charlotte (June 18, 1973). All members of the Commission shall thoroughly familiarize themselves with these statutes and this resolution. In addition, the meetings of the Commission shall be governed by Robertís Rules of Order as revised and amended.


The following officers shall be elected by majority vote of the Commission from among its members. (The masculine pronoun is used for simplicity but shall mean the masculine or feminine pronoun, whichever is applicable.) Their terms of office shall be for one year or until their successors are elected, and these officers shall be eligible for reelections:

A. Chairman. The Chairman shall preside over meetings of the Commission and shall decide all points of order and procedure, unless directed otherwise by a majority of the Commission in session at the time. He shall see that an agenda is prepared and that accurate minutes are kept and circulated. He shall appoint all Committee Chairmen and serve as an ex officio member of each of them. He shall act as liaison between the Commission and the Director. He shall see that effective presentations are made to the County Commission and City Council and other appropriate bodies of local government and that the policies of the Commission are carried out. He shall in general have all powers and perform all duties incident to the office of Chairman and such other powers and duties as may be prescribed from time to time by the Commission.

B. Vice Chairman. The Vice Chairman shall serve as acting Chairman in the absence of the Chairman and at such times shall have the powers and duties as the Chairman. In addition, he shall perform such other duties and have such other powers as may be prescribed by the Chairman or the Commission.

C. Secretary. The Secretary shall gather information from other groups dedicated to historic preservation and shall be responsible for reporting such information to the Commission.

D. Treasurer. The Treasurer shall review budgets and requests for funds associated with the Commission. The Consulting Director supervises the preparation of the annual budget of the Commission and makes recommendations concerning the projected expenditures of funds. The Commission votes on the Directorís recommendations.



A. Consulting Director. The Director shall be the principal administrative officer of the Commission. He shall conduct all Commission business under the direction of the Commission. He shall see that the policies and directives of the Commission are carried out. He shall provide continuing planning and organizational support for the Commission. He shall attend the meetings of the Commission and the various committees of the Commission and other civic and governmental organizations so that there will be a coordinated program of historic preservation for Charlotte-Mecklenburg. He shall supervise the preparation of ordinances and engage such additional staff support as may be required and authorized. He shall prepare the budget of the Commission for Commission vote. He shall examine all plans for properties with which the Commission is concerned and be informed about restorations that the Commission may undertake. He supervises preparations of Survey and Research Reports, oversees the Commissionís written and photographic files and data of historic and architectural value, and co-operates with state, federal and local governments in pursuance of the purposes of the Commission.

B. Recording Consultant. The Recording Consultant serves as the principal recording officer and custodian of records. He shall keep a register and roll of members and notify all members of meetings. He shall keep minutes of meetings and circulate them, along with notices of meetings and agendas. He shall keep attendance data and report such to appropriate authorities. He shall assist the Commission as directed.

C. Additional Commission Consultants. Additional consultants for the Commission are secured in accordance with Commission needs and recommendations.


There shall be such committees as the Commission requires. Committee Chairmen and members are appointed by the Commission Chairman.

A. Survey Committee. The Survey Committee shall be responsible for identifying buildings, structures, sites, areas, and objects in Charlotte-Mecklenburg for possible designation as historic landmarks and shall see that they are brought to the attention of the Commission in an orderly fashion for consideration as projects of the Commission.

B. Design Review. The Design Review Committee meets on a regular basis to consider Applications for Certificates of Appropriateness for locally designated historic landmarks. Recommendations are presented to the Commission for final vote.

C. Projects Committee. The Projects Committee evaluates historic properties that have potential for Commission purchase and sale under the Commissionís Revolving Fund. The Commission must approve recommendations.

D. Executive Committee. The Executive Committee of the Commission is composed of the Chairman, Vice Chairman, Secretary, Treasurer, and Projects Committee Chairman. The Executive Committee acts as the Personnel Committee and has the power to make decisions as directed by the Commission.

E. Nominating Committee. The Nominating Committee recommends a slate of officers for the Commission in April or May and supervises the election of officers in June of each year.

F. Finance Committee. The Finance Committee assists the Chairman and Consulting Director on budget requests and allocations as needed.

G. Other Committees/Chairmen. The Commission Chairman is authorized to establish additional committees and/or chairmen as needed.


A. Regular Meetings. Regular meetings of the Commission shall be held on the second Monday of each month at 6:00 p.m. at the Commission office, or at such other place as shall be specified by the Commission Chairman in advance of the meeting. The Commission does not hold meetings in July of each year.

B. Special Meetings. Special meetings of the Commission may be called at any time by the Chairman. At least 24 hours notice of the time and place of special meeting shall be given by the Secretary or Chairman to each member of the Commission.

C. Quorum. A majority of the voting members of the Commission shall constitute a quorum. Attendance requirements are in accordance with City and County rulings.

D. Conduct of Meeting. Meetings are open to the public. The order of business at regular meetings is published in advance of each meeting.

E. Annual Meeting. The annual meeting, where Commission officers are elected for the new fiscal year beginning July 1 and ending June 30, is held in June of each year.

F. Elections. Robertís Rules of Order are followed regarding voting procedure.


Commission rules/By-Laws may be amended at any time by a majority of the members of the Commission.